[TRANS] 120823 Leeteuk at BAZAAR Magazine Interview – Translation Part 1

Q1) When the newly released 6Jib <Sexy, Free & Single> title track song got Number 1, on twitter (you) wrote “It’s like the last present for the first half of my life”. Is it because the enlistment in the second half of the year is coming?
Leeteuk : Unknowingly (I’m) already 30 years old. When thinking of my enlistment this year, at first it feels distant, but slowly it starts to get real, and a little fear gets into my heart. (Being) a trainee for 5 years, an idol for 8 years (I) really worked very hard, be it group or individual I feel that I had already accomplished a lot (for them), and (I) was thinking that after I came back from army, all the things will not disappear. That’s why (I’m) positively thinking this way, because during this period (I) did a lot too, now it seems like have to divide among the groups. <STARKING>’s PD said, “You’re so annoying now.” (laughs)

Q2) Super Junior is a “Individual yet Group” representative of a successful group. Members work actively in different sectors, for your case is being the active MC for weekend variety shows. In variety sector the image that you portray seems to be your original style, or it originates from the fixed singer image of yours. Do you feel any place that are regretful regarding on this?
Leeteuk : So all the people who known me cannot imagine me participating in variety. Because I’m the type to play a piano and sing. (laughs) However I don’t dance very well like Eunhyuk, neither do I sing well like Kyuhyun. So (I was) thinking, I became MC because of the glory from it. Even though (I) started variety for this reason, initially I was upset with the thinking “This is not you”. But slowly through variety, my pessimistic and always complaining character of mine starts to change, and starts to enjoy the charisma of Variety. (MC) should feel the same common language with the guest and audience. Slowly (I) had learned to lower myself down, and connect with the others.

Q3) Following the MC activities pathway, rather than saying (you) want to participate, (I) feel that you want to master this variety sector more.
Leeteuk : The show starts at 9am, one hour, one hour, slowly climbing up, and now becoming the main MC for weekend prime time Variety Shows. During this process I keep pride in myself, and, becoming an idol MC, it’s my first time liking this too. Continuing the (MC) activities till 50-60 years old is my goal.

Q4) But becoming an MC, (I) heard that one will get the “Talking disorder” (laughs) *Note : It means one will be unable to stand silence/awkwardness*
Leeteuk : It became a big problem. (I) can’t stay silent, must always keep talking. The same goes for today, the topic is endless with the staff whom (I) met for the first time. Because if (I) don’t say anything and stare blank, I will be afraid that the atmosphere will be awkward because of me.

Q5) But if that’s the case for every situation, as the time for oneself is already not enough, isn’t silent moments more appreciated?
Leeteuk : That’s why if things ended and I was left alone, I will feel lost and don’t know what to do. Is it because of this, that’s why I don’t have a girlfriend? No, is it because of this that cause the breakup with my girlfriend? (I) will think this way.

Q6) I haven’t even start asking and (you) touched the love subject yourself. Thank you. (laughs) How long is the last relationship? *Note : or rather, the reporter is asking how long have you not been in a relationship?*
Leeteuk : Is it almost one year now? Ah, (I’m) blushing now… I had been too honest right! (laughs) During that time I only cared about work. My whole mind is filled with “Must be a success”, because the schedule is too busy, Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday are all packed, not even a single rest. After schedules ended all (I) want is to rest. The next day (I) had to leave house again at 6 or 7am, if I slept any longer, I will feel that the clapping are going to disappear. But in the standpoint of a girlfriend, no matter my schedule ends at 2am or 3am, we definitely have to meet, this way it then can be considered dating. I wish my girlfriend would understand me, I only knows work, by the looks of it I (know) I can’t date anymore. But because it’s now time for me to go to army, (I) realise I want to care about people now, but after looking around my surroundings, there is no one left.

Credit : Baidu Teuk Bar (小蕾,歪歪)
Translated by : leeteukbaby@wingsforleeteuk.com (ENG Translation)
TAKE OUT WITH FULL CREDITS

-UwiE-

Leave a Reply

